Preparations heat up as Assembly election draws near

Tuesday, June 16, 2009
Issue 734, Page 3
Word count: 834
Published in: Macau Daily Times

By Poyi (Natalie) Leung

Five more nominating committees delivered their candidates lists, platforms and voters’ signatures to the government yesterday in order to run for the 12 direct seats in the 4th Legislative Assembly Election on September 20 this year.

According to the timetable, a nominating committee is required to hand in 300 to 500 voters’ signatures to the Public Administration and Civil Service Bureau (SAFP) before July 3 so as to confirm its legitimate existence.

And by July 13 the eligible nominating committees, or the associations which they represent, have to submit their lists of candidates and platforms to the SAFP.

The United Citizens Association of Macau (ACUM) was the first association to deliver the candidates list and platform yesterday.

Led by current lawmakers Chan Meng Kam and Ung Choi Kun, who are respectively the first and second candidates, the ACUM has altogether nine names on its list.

The other candidates are respectively Yau Teng Biu, Chiu Tak Woo, Ieung Tat Foo, Ng Ka Yoi, Chung Tak Chi, Tsui Meng Tat and Sung Pek Kei.

The ACUM strives to “seek for changes for residents’ benefits, eliminate vested interest, bad customs and habits, facilitate diversification in economy and let residents share the fruit of development”.

According to Chan Meng Kam, the platform was written based on their experience of serving society and he would try his best to win a seat in the election.

On the other hand, four more nominating committees handed in voters’ signatures to the SAFP.

As of yesterday, a total of six nominating committees have applied to confirm their legitimate existence, of which the ACUM and the Union for Promoting Progress, represented by social services organisations, have already obtained the confirmation.

Current lawmaker Jose Pereira Coutinho will partner with Rita Santos, also from the Macau Civil Servant’s Association, to represent political party New Hope as the candidate No. 1 and No. 2 on the list.

Coutinho yesterday submitted 500 voters’ signatures to the SAFP.

He said that he will designate other eight persons on the candidates list and is glad to have the opportunity to serve local people again.

He also said that society is eager to change and he will continue to fight for rights and interests for residents and help improve their quality of life.

“Our goal is to serve Macau people, no matter they are civil servants or not, this is what a lawmaker should uphold,” Coutinho added.

Meanwhile, current lawmakers Au Kam San and Ng Kuok Cheong are also hoping to bid for another term at the legislature.

Au and Ng this year are split into two nominating committees representing the New Democratic Macau Association and the “Cheong” Democratic Macau Association.

The two groups collected around 1,200 voters’ signatures earlier and delivered them to the SAFP yesterday.

The New Democratic Macau Association designates Au Kam San as the first candidate on the list, followed by Chou Teng Hei and four other members.

The “Cheong” Democratic Macau Association will also have six candidates, with Ng Kuok Cheong and Chan Wai Chi being the first and the second on the list respectively.

Au said they hoped that by forming two groups, the democratic camp will have a bigger chance to win more directly-elected seats at the legislature and thus speak up more for residents.

Ng also said that both groups aim at getting rid of corruption, striving for democracy and protecting people’s livelihood.

The democrat-cum lawmakers admitted that it would be a big challenge (for having two separate lists) but they have confident in getting a seat.

In addition, the Social Democratic Front also applied to confirm its legitimate status by handing in 500 voters’ signatures.

The party is represented by six candidates with Lei Man Chou and Tang Kuok Leong being the first and the second on the list.

Lei said they will reflect grass-root people’s demands, and be concerned about labour, employment and housing policies.

He said he expected that this year’s Legislative Assembly Election will be a head-on competition but the Social Democratic Front has confidence in it.

The Union for Promoting Progress, which already has its legitimate status confirmed by the SAFP, still had not delivered the candidates list and platform.

Currently represented by Leong Heng Teng and Iong Weng Ian, the September 20 election will see a new group of candidates as the two lawmakers will stand down.

This year the Union for Promoting Progress designates 12 candidates with Ho Ion Sang and Chen Hong being the No. 1 and No. 2 on the list respectively.

The party is formed by individuals from multiple social services organisations such as the General Union of Neighbourhood Associations of Macau (UGAMM), the Women’s General Union of Macau and the Macau Association of Returned Overseas Chinese.

According to the election schedule, the final lists of candidates will be posted up at the SAFP building on July 15.

The Legislative Assembly is a 29-member body comprising 12 directly elected members, 10 indirectly elected members and seven members appointed by the Chief Executive.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: