Autonomous public institutes to be divided subject to roles

Thursday, April 3, 2008
Issue 302, Page 6
Word count: 309
Published in: Macau Daily Times

By Poyi (Natalie) Leung

The Eventual Committee for the Analysis of the Public Financial Regime said yesterday that they would consider categorise the self-governing public institutes into different functions so as to individually study their administration and financial management systems.

According to president of the eventual committee, Iong Weng Ian, yesterday’s meeting at the Legislative Assembly mainly discussed the work plan for the next phase in analysing the legal system of public finance.

The first phase of the work examining the legal regime of public capital enterprises was completed in mid last year and an interim report was submitted to the government for review.

Ms Iong said this conclusion was followed by another study on the public institutes or departments whose finance and administration systems are run autonomously.

The committee will primarily look at the 6/2006 Administrative Regulation concerning the management scheme of public revenue.

Apart from going through the provisions that will attract the most spotlights, the president said the eventual committee would consider divide the 41 autonomous government institutes according to their functions and then invite officials to introduce their departments’ administration and financial management regulations to the committee members.

This would also give the Legislative Assembly and the eventual committee opportunities to look at different systems set out and then to see if there was room to be improved, Ms Iong added.

As one of the functions of the self-governing institutes would involve the political and judiciary structures such as the Legislative Assembly, Audit Commission, courts, Public Prosecutions Office and the Commission Against Corruption, Ms Iong said they might first begin by the Assembly’s presentation of its administration arrangement.

She said an interim report would also be expected after the completion of the second phase.

The current autonomous public institutes include the University of Macau, Macau Polytechnic Institute, Social Welfare Bureau, Labour Affairs Bureau, Maritime Administration and the Printing Bureau.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: